Tesla referral rewards: what the owner of the code earns
Short answer
Tesla Credits (or, depending on the car and store, Supercharging credits) for up to 10 referred orders a calendar year. Each reward is pending until Tesla's Grant Date and expires 12 months later. Tesla's public terms don't publish the amount.
Source Tesla's US Refer and Earn terms (Effective Aug 24, 2024; updated Feb 24, 2026; read in the Jun 15, 2026 archive copy); Tesla's UK Refer and Earn terms (Effective Sep 5, 2024; updated Jun 4, 2025; read in the Jun 12, 2026 archive copy); Tesla US referral page, Internet Archive capture of Sep 1, 2025.
In your store
US store: Tesla Credits, up to 10 order referrals per calendar year (plus up to 30 demo-drive referrals over the account's life), each expiring 12 months after the Grant Date. Tesla's US terms don't state the amount; the Tesla app shows it.
This line follows the store your browser is in. Where we haven't read that store's terms, it says so.
The rules, from Tesla's terms
| Rule | US | UK |
|---|---|---|
| Form of reward | Tesla Credits, “depending on the qualifying product” | Supercharging credits or Tesla Credits, depending on the vehicle |
| Order referrals | up to 10 per calendar year | up to 10 per calendar year |
| Demo-drive referrals | up to 30 over the account's life | not mentioned |
| When it appears | “pending” in the app until the Grant Date | “pending” in the app until the Grant Date |
| Expiry | 12 months after the Grant Date; email 30 days before | 12 months; Supercharging credits extend 12 months per new referral, up to 36 months |
| Who can't earn | Ohio and Virginia residents | not mentioned |
| Amount | not stated in the terms — shown in the app | not stated in the terms — shown in the app |
What Tesla Credits can pay for
Tesla's US FAQ lists Supercharging, a new vehicle purchase, a new energy product purchase (if Tesla installs it), outstanding service balances in the app, Tesla Shop, subscriptions and upgrades. They can't pay for the Extended Service Agreement subscription, can't be transferred or cashed out, and aren't valid for gift cards or alcohol.
Why we don't print a dollar figure
Many sites say the US referrer earns “$250”. We couldn't find that figure on any public Tesla page we can date. The closest thing — “$250 Tesla Credits” on Tesla's US referral page in September 2025 — was the buyer's benefit on Cybertruck, Model S and Model X, not the referrer's. Until a Tesla page states it, the honest answer is: open the app and look at your Refer and Earn screen.
Watch out
When you reach 10 referrals in a calendar year, people who order with your link get no buyer benefit at all. Stop sharing until January.